Sandy What GOOD Happened Today?

Someone whom I admire recently asked me that question. Ironically, what “good happened” in that moment was that I was resisting the urge to punch him in the face.

angry-woman
That’s good, RIGHT!?

I may have overreacted.

Anyway, I have been having a rough day, week, month, year….And today I just wanted to give up. I went to the to woods  to take pictures for my photography class and it was too dark. The tripod broke. The camera settings were wrong and I have selective dyslexia that definitely kicks in when it comes to reading technical stuff. ( that’s a technical term BTW…) So I sat down in the middle of the Little Woods (the place where this blog started almost a year ago now) and sobbed like a baby. I don’t know who I am or what I’m doing. No one needs me to cook or wash their clothes or make sure they get to school, and right now its a good thing because I can hardly take care of myself. I recently locked my keys in the car while it was running for the SECOND time in a month. When I called AAA they asked me if there were any small children or animals in the car.

No, I replied. I am definitely not on anyones list for the responsible care of of small helpless creatures these days. I am after all the genius who just locked her keys in her running automobile, AGAIN.

I just feel like the biggest loser in the world today.

L-is-Loser
You can say whatcha want about this guy, but he is an AWESOME tipper. Wanna see a couple of waiters fight to the death? Tell them Charlie Sheen is coming in for dinner.

But I am not going to give up. I always land on my feet and I will again. What’s in question is whether I will pirouette or pratfall when I do.

Its ok. I do an amazing pratfall. I don’t even need a banana peel.

So here’s what GOOD happened today.

I got a B on my math test.

I finished my homework.

I did not maim or set fire to any small children or animals.

I did not piss off my roommate.

I did not kill my other roommate.

My hair did not fall out.

I did not lose my sense of humor (even while sobbing in the woods I was acutely aware of how ridiculous I looked)

I still managed to find time to defile myself in the steam room.

I feel like shit but I LOOK Mahvelous….

I still believe in faeries.

I am still in love with Neil Gaiman.

And my kid is still the best person I know.

Now I have to find something to call and bitch at him about….

6 thoughts on “Sandy What GOOD Happened Today?

  1. Good too see you making lists of the good things. Locking keys in cars is my husbands speciality, I always through it was a man thing! Obviously not 🙂 hope today is better.

  2. Dave

    Glad to see you found a list of “good things”. Sometimes we have to dig, but they are ALWAYS there. Hang in there, it’ll turn around for ya! 🙂

Comments are closed.